Documents / Checking documents out

This screen allows users to check out documents.

Checking a document out prevents others from doing the same. A document can only be checked out by a single user.

When you choose to check out a document, you have two options:

  1. Click on the "Check out only" link

    Choose this option if you wish to "lock" the selected documents so that it cannot be checked out by another infoRouter user. This option will not download the selected documents to your workstation.

  2. Click on the "Check out and download" link

    Choose this option if you wish to "lock" the selected documents so that it cannot be checked out by another infoRouter user. This option will download the selected documents to your workstation. If you choose more than one document to check out, the selected documents will be zipped into a single zip document, then the zip file will be downloaded.

Tip:

If you chose multiple documents and downloaded a single zip file, perform the following:

  • Unzip the file into a directory
  • Edit the documents you wish to edit. You do not have to change the content of all documents in the zipped package.
  • Once you are done with the editing, zip the documents back into a single zip file.
  • Upload the single zip file into the same directory.

    Note:

    You do not need to create a zipped document to upload the edited documents. You can check-in each individual document.

What happens [in the background] when you upload a zipped document:

Unlike when uploading a single file into an infoRouter folder, this tool does not stop you when documents with the same name already exist in the infoRouter folder.

  • The single zip file is expanded on the server
  • Any new documents within the zip file are created as new documents.
  • Any existing documents (documents with the same name) are compared. If a change in the content is detected, a new version of the document in infoRouter is created.
  • Documents with the same name with no apparent changes to the content are ignored and no new versions are created.